select search filters
roundups & rapid reactions
before the headlines
Fiona fox's blog



The board of Trustees is the major decision-making body of the Science Media Centre and meets at least three times a year. Trustees are distinguished in the fields of science, engineering, medicine, journalism, communications, finance, law and policy.

Dr Peter Cotgreave (Chair)
Chief Executive, Society for General Microbiology

Marshall Davies (Treasurer)
Former President of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society

Jonathan Baker
Professor of Journalism, University of Essex, (ex-Head of Newsgathering, BBC)

Alex Denoon
Partner, Lawford Davies Denoon

Dr Helen Jamison
Head of Media Relations, Wellcome Trust

Prof. Ottoline Leyser
Director & Professor of Plant Development, Sainsbury Laboratory, Cambridge University

Dr Helen Munn
Executive Director, Academy of Medical Sciences

Prof. Sir Mike Rawlins
Former Chair of NICE

Mark Sudbury
Director of Communications and Marketing, University College London

Prof. Sir Simon Wessely
Professor of Psychological Medicine, Kings College London

Advisory Committee

The Trustees are guided by a voluntary group of advisors from the fields of science, engineering, medicine, journalism and communications, who provide expertise and advice, and also meet three times a year.

Prof. Wendy Barclay
Chair in Influenza Virology, Imperial College London

Steve Bates
Chief Executive, BioIndustry Association

Dr Helen Bedford
Senior Lecturer in Paediatric Epidemiology, UCL Institute of Child Health

Prof. Dorothy Bishop
Professor Developmental Neuropsychology, University of Oxford

Adrian Bull
External Relations Director, National Nuclear Laboratory

Prof. Chris Chambers
Senior Research Fellow in Psychology, Cardiff University

Lord Paul Drayson
Entrepreneur and former Science Minister

Jeremy Laurance
Former Health Editor, The Independent and the i

Prof. Robin Lovell-Badge
Head of Developmental Genetics, MRC National Institute for Medical Research

Lawrence McGinty
Former Science Editor, ITV News

Dr Lesley Patterson
Head of Communications and Engagement, Royal Academy of Engineering

Fay Schlesinger
Home Editor, The Times

in this section